Home > VMware, vSphere > My VMware VCAP-DCA Exam Experience

My VMware VCAP-DCA Exam Experience

Yesterday was the day i took my VCAP-DCA410 exam… and i will probably remember that day for quite some time 🙂

 

I arrived at the Exam Center in time.  I had it scheduled at 11:00.  After the usual autographing and picture-taking, i was ready to take the exam.  You’re not allowed to take any drinks into the classroom so make sure to drink in advance… but don’t drink too much, since you can’t go to the bathroom either 🙂

I prepared for the exam by doing A LOT of practice in a LAB environment.  And you really need to do this.  There is no time to look up things in manuals (the PDFs are at your disposal, but if you have to go through them to look up things you are doomed…), there is no time to start playing with the exact syntax of commands, there is no time to search for that specific option in the GUI… you just have to KNOW it.  Period!

The lab performance was okay…  there is some lag but it’s manageable.  I wonder why they don’t use PCOIP instead of RDP for exam though (eat your own dog food you know).

Every question i had was covered in the blueprint.

I had one question though which was already partially solved.  I guess that was a leftover from a previous exam attempt or a mistake during the setup of the LAB.  Anyhow, as long as i pass, i won’t bitch about it 🙂

 

Now i have to wait for about 10 days for an email to drop in.  Hopefully it says something like: “Dude, you passed” 🙂

Categories: VMware, vSphere
  1. rahul
    October 25, 2012 at 06:44

    hey sammy, what blueprint ur referring to?

  2. Kent Zhou
    October 30, 2012 at 17:32

    Hi Sammy, thanks for the blog. I just finished VCP5 training class, AM PREAPRING FOR vcp5 EXAM, and JUST got my lab server PE 1950 III (2 Quad 2.55GHZ, 32GB memeory, 2x146GB 10k SAS HDs, Dell SAS 6/iR Raid, DVD RW). Do you think it is enough to go through lab excise for VCAP-DCA exam? I’m thinking about buying another PE 1950 (2xQuad, 16GB, Prec 5/i or 6/i) and a lowend gigabit switch if necessary. Thank you in advance.

    • October 31, 2012 at 07:54

      Looking at the hardware, you have more than enough horsepower!

      But since you really need to experiment with clusters (HA, DRS, Storage, …), you will definately need multiple hosts. So i would certainly install Windows on it + VMware Workstation as explained in my lab. Another option would be to run ESXi on it natively, and then follow the lab guide, basically using ESXi where i use VMware Workstation.

      The only culprit could be your disks since you are limited in IOPS… Adding more disks or an SSD will solve that.

      • Kent Zhou
        October 31, 2012 at 21:08

        Thank you for the quick response. I will adjust my hardware for that. vMWare just called me and informed me that ESXi 5.0 trial version is not available anymore. Only 5.1 is available. I have to find 5.0 from someone else. I don’t know what to say, but just beg if any of you can let me get a copy.

      • November 2, 2012 at 09:23

        If you know somebody with a VMware account and active licenses (customer, …), you can download the 5.0 binaries.

      • Kent
        November 4, 2012 at 03:57

        I just got a trial copy from a licensed customer. Thank you for the advice.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

